New PIN Taxpayer Registration, Kenya Revenue Authority

Requirements for Taxpayer Registration

  • Resident Individuals : National Identification Number
  • Non – Resident Individuals: Alien Registration Number
  • Companies and Partnerships: Certificate of Registration Number

Now go to: https://mapato1.kra.go.ke/itms/

Go to the New Taxpayer link and start the process.
Upon successful completion of the form with the correct Taxpayer Registration details, the system will allocate the ‘PIN’, ‘Password’ and ‘Security Stamp’. These will be sent to you through the e-mail address you have provided above.

  • PIN – Taxpayer Personal Identification Number
  • Password – your secret access number to use the system
  • Security Stamp – your secure number generated by the system.

Luckily a step-by-step guide is available online, download it here.

47 thoughts on “New PIN Taxpayer Registration, Kenya Revenue Authority

  1. I need to to thank you for this very good read!! I definitely
    loved every bit of it. I’ve got you book marked to look at new things you post…

  2. you kra agents r bad ones.imagine at first u directed me to nairobi from kisii bcz ma id was too recent.now, am trying to apply for the same pin for 3 weeks and every time i visit the cybercafes wasting ma money and time, an annoying message is always displayed that”THIS SERVICE IS NOT AVAILABLE AT THE MOMENT,TRY LATER.AM NOW CONFUSED WHICH IS THIS “LATER” R U TALKING ABOUT?UR LOCAL OFFICES ARE JUST AS GOOD AS NOTHING COZ THEY DONT EVEN KNOW WHAT IS HAPPENING!

  3. kra does not give clear instructions for one when applying for a taxpayers pin why?

  4. I applied for kra pin and was successful. Later i found an e-mail from kra telling me that information of my registry had been changed and instructed to visit the kra site. I unable to solve the problem. Please help.

  5. KRA has utterly failed me in trying to register for a Non-Resident PIN. Every time i go to their website from whichever cyber i go to, i get an error message saying the records don’t match what’s already in the KRA system – the thing is I am applying for a “new” pin and therefore my passport number would not be in their system. Upon going to the KRA office locally I was simply told to go to a cyber to apply. In my opinion, the website system is not an ideal one and the paper forms should have been retained as a backup in situations such as for foreigners. I will probably end up having to go the KRA in Nairobi to try and get this situation figured out since my local branch has failed to assist me thus far.

  6. hi, what does the bit that says ‘area’ mean under the physical address part? how do i know my area number?

  7. i applied for my KRA pin but made a mistake on the section 4 taxpayers obligations where i applied 4 PAYE INCOME TAX WITHOLDING instead of INCOME TAX INDIVIDUAL.I av send a letter 4 correction but i haven’t received any reply,PLIZ HELP.

  8. Samson, the instructions on this post are clear; please follow the procedures. Alternative kindly visit a KRA Office near you or any Cyber Cafè they’ll be able to assist.
    Thank you.

  9. I tried applying online but it faied,then I went to the KRA offices in my town,they said my ID number was so recent and therefore its details were not available in the data bank,they told me to travel to Nairobi,which to me is very difficult since I have limited time to submit my HELB loan application forms,the university admission day is approachingand I need that PIN urgently what shuld I do?

    • Wherever you are please go to your nearest KRA offices they’ll be able to assist. The services are decentralized and you don’t have to go to Nairobi. However if push comes to shove then Nairobi you must go.

  10. Am only seeing the procedures please give the link to the form that I fill the required info so as to download my form.

  11. ON 2WHICH WEB DO U EXACTLY GO FOR ONE 2 REGISTER FOR PIN,THE CYBER CAFE TAKE ADVANTAGE OF MANY.THEY DID IT 2ME.HELP

    • Kamande, follow the steps outlined above. Once you’ve registered online an email is sent to you with the login details, where you’ll go back to the KRA website & log in using the details, provided and once logged on, you must change the password. Now go to the main menu & select Registration Certificate. The certificate will be displayed online, follow the printer sign at the top right corner to print the hard copy of the certificate. I f this doesn’t work visit a Cybercafe near you and am sure they’ll be able to help. Success.

  12. how do i get the details of the identification ID and password to enable e apply the pin registration form ,thanks

    • Hashim, follow the steps outlined above. Cross check your ID details. Once you’ve registered online an email is sent to you with the login details, where you’ll go back to the KRA website & log in using the details, provided and once logged on, you must change the password. Now go to the main menu & select Registration Certificate. The certificate will be displayed online, follow the printer sign at the top right corner to print the hard copy of the certificate. I f this doesn’t work visit a Cybercafe near you and am sure they’ll be able to help. Success.

  13. pliz i can get my pin no, through internet. Ihad applied earlier unfortunately cnt trace it in the internet

    • Wanderi, once you’ve registered online an email is sent to you with the login details, where you’ll go back to the KRA website & log in using the details, provided and once logged on, you must change the password. Now go to the main menu & select Registration Certificate. The certificate will be displayed online, follow the printer sign at the top right corner to print the hard copy of the certificate. I f this doesn’t work visit a Cyber Cafe’ near you and am sure they’ll be able to help. Success.

  14. Please avail some time for training people on how to operate the new online services. if it’s proving to be difficult even to the people with the required knowledge,it’s greek to those without the knowhow. Like my case, whenever i try to apply for any doc. there is always a reply ‘GO TO KRA OFFICES’ & that makes me worder what’s the need for the service.

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,840 other followers

